In the United States, age of consent laws regarding sexual activity are made at the state level. There are several federal statutes related to protecting minors from sexual predators, but laws regarding specific age requirements for sexual consent are left to individual states , District of Columbia , and territories. Depending on the jurisdiction, the legal age of consent is between 16 and In some places, civil and criminal laws within the same state conflict with each other. Different jurisdictions express these definitions differently, like Argentina, may say the age of consent is 18, but an exception is made down to 13 years of age, if the older partner is not in a position of authority over the younger one. The data below reflects what each jurisdiction's legislation actually means, rather than what it states on the surface.
Age of Consent by State 2021
FAQs - Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
The Arkansas Age of Consent is 16 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 15 or younger in Arkansas are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape. Arkansas statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age If the offender is under age 18, the younger party must not be under 14 years of age a defense exists if the younger party is at no more than 4 years younger than the offender, or no more than 3 years younger if the victim is under Arkansas has a close-in-age exemption. A close in age exemption , also known as "Romeo and Juliet law", is designed to prevent the prosecution of underage couples who engage in consensual sex when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both are below the age of consent.
Arkansas Department of Labor & Licensing
Survive Divorce is reader-supported. Some links may be from our sponsors. If you are considering a divorce in Arkansas, it is important to understand the divorce laws and how they apply to your situation. This overview will assist in growing your understanding of the divorce laws in Arkansas.
At Lovendly, you can meet, chat, and date attractive, fun-loving singles in Arkansas. Claim your account in 30 seconds, upload a photo, and start finding singles in Arkansas today. Visit Lovendly to get in on the action. Meet thousands of single men and women from Arkansas.